Back in the Gym

I decided it was time for me to get back into the gym yesterday.  About 2 years ago I got into lifting weights.  I was going to the gym five to six times a week for around a year.  I had got some pretty good results and was actually quite proud of myself and the way I looked.  For some reason though I got lazy and stopped going.  In the past year I have lost a lot of muscle definition and put on about 20 pounds.  I also haven’t felt as strong and going back to the gym confirmed that I have indeed lost a lot of strength.  I wasn’t at all surprised but it is kind of sad to think where I was and now I have to start back from the beginning.

I did a lot more cardio than what I had done in the past.  I followed the cardio up with a light full body workout.   I am keeping things fairly light right now so I don’t hurt myself getting back into lifting.  I am actually not nearly as sore as I though I would be.  My arms are the only things that are sore at the moment.  I woke up this morning with them hurting and they still do when I stretch them out.  It is a good soreness though (if that makes since) so it will be fine.  I think I wore myself out though.  The cardio plus lifting was more physical activity than what I have done in awhile.  I slept better last night than what I have in a long time.

I just need to keep going now and not slack off like I did last time.  I think once I get back into a routine that shouldn’t be a problem.  I also need to get my diet back in order.  I was eating very healthy while lifting before but when I quit lifting my healthy diet when with it.  This may be even harder than getting back in the gym though.  Wish me luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

