Failing…

It seems my attempt blogging is failing somewhat. I had initially planned on just writing about my daily life. I sadly just don’t lead an interesting enough life to really write about.

A few updates. I am still working the same job that I hate. I guess I am just to lazy to go get a new job even though I really need/want one.

Mepis 6.5 was recently released. Although this is old news to anyone who follows the linux news sights. It’s a great, very user friendly distribution of linux. If anyone is looking to give linux a shot or who wants a distro that just works, definitely give Mepis a try.

I am still running ArchLinux as my primary OS and loving it. Although I recently updated it for the first time in a long time and had a couple things break. Nothing major though so all is good. /me makes a note to run pacman -Syu at least once every other day.

I have recently started to learn HTML and CSS. I found a couple of sites online that offer some very nice templates for website creation so I thought it might be fun to try and set up a web-site. Although seeing as how I can’t keep up with a blog, I have no idea how I will manage to have enough content to create an entire site, but it should be fun trying and hopefully the knowledge will come in handy some day.

As mentioned sometime before, I have been running linux for the past couple of years. I just use it though for basic computer needs. Everyday stuff like web browsing, email, instant messaging and listening to music. I decided recently to try to learn more about actually administering a system. I have no desire to be a system administrator or something like that but thought it was time to learn a little more about what is happening “inside” the computer.

To start learning, I found the book, FreeBSD 6 Unleashed. FreeBSD is quite similar to linux in many ways. The User Interface can be the exact same so it should be easy to start using it. Since I really don’t know a whole lot about the “inner workings” of linux adapting to the BSD ways of doing things hopefully wont be to hard.

I have already hit my first glitch though as I forgot to add the closing ” to config file I was editing. Now when the system boots I am left with a message saying something along the lines of: Config error, never ending quote, and then tells me to type the path to the shell to fix it. The problem was further complicated by the fact that in my frustration I just shut the computer down with the power button (It was conveniently located right next to my foot) rather than telling the computer through a command to shut itself down. In order to fix the first problem I have to mount the filesystem, which now I can’t do because I improperly shutdown the computer. It says I need to run a command (I forget the exact one) to try to fix the problem. However that command is not recognized in the shell that I am in. So, needless to say I am stuck.

Well that is it for now, I am off to ‘Google’ to try to fix my FreeBSD machine. Wish me luck!

    • shadowsofourselves
    • May 15th, 2007

    Keep writing. You say your life is boring.. Try writing more about what you feel, and less about the daily details of what you’ve done? Don’t take my word for it though.. I’m still new at this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

